What is yoga?

Yoga is about stilling the mind with the aim of finding evenness, or equanimity, of mind in all we do. In the Yoga Sutra, penned around 2,000 years ago, the ancient sage Patanjali sets out the essence of yoga as:

Yogas citta vrtti nirodhah - The restraint of the modifications of the mind-stuff is yoga (Yoga Sutra 1.2).

Yoga is an ancient spiritual practice that delves into the essence of who we are, and gives us a number of tools to help us discover the best possible version of ourselves.

Patanjali in the Yoga Sutra describes eight limbs of yoga to reach Samadhi or bliss. These are:

  • Yama (ethical standards)
  • Niyama (self-discipline)
  • Asana (the postures commonly seen in the West as 'yoga')
  • Pranyama (breathing practices)
  • Pratyahara (withdrawal of the senses)
  • Dharana (concentration)
  • Dhyana (meditation)
  • Samadhi (bliss / realisation)

Equanimity Yoga classes take a holistic approach to the yoga practice, and they often focuses on one of more of the eight limbs of yoga. For more information on Equanimity Yoga classes please see the class schedule page.